13 Nov

The International Biennale of Casablanca Celebrates 10 Years
Ada_Pinkston_LandMarked_2019.jpg

Ada Pinkston, LandMarked, 2018. Performance, documentation : Chris Chapa. Courtoisie de l’artiste.

The International Biennale of Casablanca (BIC) will inaugurate the first part of its fifth edition on Thursday 17 November at The American Arts Center and will celebrate its 10th anniversary.

 

Three exhibitions held at The American Arts Center, SoArt Gallery and BIC Project Space will present until 17 December the works of 17 artists including:

 

- The American Arts Center: Brahim Benkirane (Morocco), Kyoo Choix (South Korea/France), Alessandra Ferrini (Italy/United Kingdom), Brandon Gercara (France), George Hallett (South Africa), Amira Hanafi (Egypt /United States), Emilia Izquierdo (Chile/United Kingdom), Elias Mendel (United Kingdom), Gideon Mendel (South Africa/United Kingdom), Ada Pinkston (United States) and Buhlebezwe Siwani (South Africa).

 

- SoArt Gallery: Aisha Jemila Daniels (United States), Lebohang Kganye (South Africa), Sharlene Khan (South Africa) and Alice Mann (South Africa).

 

- BIC Project Space: Khadija Tnana (Morocco) and Ziad Naitaddi (Morocco).

 

The BIC’s associated programme will consist in a collaboration with La Serre by l’Atelier de l’Observatoire (Morocco).

 

The artists were selected following a call for applications launched in 2019, as part of a curatorial research carried out from 2019 to 2022, and following portfolio reviews held in Casablanca and virtually in July and August 2022.

 

The 5th International Biennale of Casablanca is placed under the artistic direction of Christine Eyene (England/Cameroon), art historian and exhibition curator, in collaboration with three emerging curators: Selma Naguib (Morocco), Patrick Nzazi Kiama (Republic Democratic Party of Congo/France) and Juste Constant Onana Amougui (Cameroon).

 

Entitled The Words Create Images, the 5th edition of the BIC is inspired by the work of South African photographer George Hallett (1942-2020) and the role of African literature in image making processes. The theme also refers to an observation by Jacques Derrida, during his seminar Trace et archive, image et art(2002) on “the idea of ​​the word working as an image, beyond its discursive properties”.

This theme unfolds in Casablanca through word, text, sign, language, thought, discourse, be it orality, writing or code; transmission of customary, historical or contemporary stories; discursive spaces and margins of expression.

The exhibitions will bring together multidisciplinary works including painting, photography, video, installation, performance, and digital art.

 

In addition to the exhibitions, the Biennale will host a rich public program starting during the professional days from 17 to 20 November, at musée de la Fondation Abderrahman Slaoui and The American Arts Center with performances, discussions, and conversations between the BIC’s artists and curators, as well as interventions by Siham Weigant (Independent curator, Morocco / Co-curator, Dakar Biennale 2022), Pr. Joasia Krysa (Curator of the Helsinki Biennale 2023), Yann Mazéas (Director of the MO .CO. Esba, Montpellier), ART AFRICA (Cape Town), and many others.

 

Finally, after the 59th Venice Biennale and Documenta fifteen, the International Biennale of Casablanca is hosting SAISON 6 - Volume 2, an international residency programme for young artists who have graduated from MO.CO. Esba - Montpellier School of Fine Arts. Six laureates are invited to develop their work during one year over 3 residencies, organised on the occasion of biennales and major international exhibitions. The laureates are Marie Boutevin, Paul Dubois, Alyss Fleury, Pierre Peres (K.BLUM), Clémentine Poirier (BOBBY BRIM) and Gaétan Vaguelsy who will participate in several of the BIC’s activities and exhibit their work at the end of their time at Casablanca.

Organised by Maroc Premium Fondation, the 5th International Biennale of Casablanca is produced in partnership and collaboration with: IFITRY, Centre d'Art Contemporain Essaouira, BIC Project Space, FRAC Réunion, Institut français, Phileas – A fund for Contemporary Art, Liverpool John Moores University and The American Arts Center.

 

The second part of the International Biennale of Casablanca will take place from 1 June to 2 July 2023.

 

For more information, contact info@biennalecasablanca.ma.

13 Nov

La Biennale Internationale de Casablanca fête ses 10 ans
Ada_Pinkston_LandMarked_2019.jpg

Ada Pinkston, LandMarked, 2018. Performance, documentation : Chris Chapa. Courtoisie de l’artiste.

La Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (BIC) inaugurera la première partie du programme de sa cinquième édition jeudi 17 novembre à L’American Arts Center et célèbrera par la même occasion son 10ème anniversaire

 

Trois expositions se tenant à L’American Arts Center, SoArt Gallery et au BIC Project Space présenteront jusqu’au 17 décembre les œuvres de 17 artistes dont :

 

  • The American Arts Center : Brahim Benkirane (Maroc), Kyoo Choix (Corée du Sud/France), Alessandra Ferrini (Italie/Royaume-Uni), Brandon Gercara (France), George Hallett (Afrique du Sud), Amira Hanafi (Égypte/États-Unis), Emilia Izquierdo (Chili/Royaume-Uni), Elias Mendel (Royaume-Uni), Gideon Mendel (Afrique du Sud/Royaume-Uni), Ada Pinkston (États-Unis) et Buhlebezwe Siwani (Afrique du Sud).

 

  • SoArt Gallery : Aisha Jemila Daniels (États-Unis), Lebohang Kganye (Afrique du Sud), Sharlene Khan (Afrique du Sud) et Alice Mann (Afrique du Sud).

 

  • Bic Project Space : Khadija Tnana (Maroc) et Ziad Naitaddi (Maroc).

 

Le programme associé de la BIC portera sur une collaboration avec La Serre de l’Atelier de l’Observatoire (Maroc).

 

Les artistes ont été sélectionnés sur appel à candidatures lancé en 2019, dans le cadre d’une recherche curatoriale ménée de 2019 à 2022, et suite aux lectures de portfolios qui se sont tenues à Casablanca et virtuellement en juillet et août 2022. 

 

La 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca est placée sous la direction artistique de Christine Eyene (Angleterre/Cameroun), historienne de l’art et commissaire d’expositions, en collaboration avec trois jeunes commissaires : Selma Naguib (Maroc), Patrick Nzazi Kiama (République Démocratique du Congo/France) et Juste Constant Onana Amougui (Cameroun). 

 

Intitulée Les mots créent des images, la 5ème édition de la BIC s’inspire de l’œuvre du photographe sud-africain George Hallett (1942-2020) et du rôle de la littérature africaine dans les processus de création de l’image. Le thème se réfère aussi à une observation de Jacques Derrida, durant son séminaire Trace et archive, image et art (2002) sur « l’idée de mot œuvrant comme image, au-delà même de ses propriétés discursives ». 

Ce thème se déploie à Casablanca à travers le mot, texte, signe, la langue, la pensée, le discours, qu’il s’agisse d’oralité, d'écriture ou de code ; de transmission de récits coutumiers, historiques ou contemporains ; d’espaces discursifs et de marges d’expression. 

Les expositions rassembleront des œuvres pluridisciplinaires incluant peinture, photographie, vidéo, installation, performance et art numérique.

 

En plus des expositions, la Biennale proposera un riche programme public débutant lors des journées professionnelles du 17 au 20 novembre, au musée de la Fondation Abderrahman Slaoui et à L’American Arts Center comprenant performances, discussions, et conversations entre les artistes et commissaires de la BIC, ainsi que des interventions de Siham Weigant (Commissaire indépendante, Maroc / Co-commissaire, Biennale de Dakar 2022), Pr. Joasia Krysa (Commissaire de la Biennale de Helsinki 2023), Yann Mazéas (Directeur du MO.CO. Esba, Montpellier), ART AFRICA (Le Cap), et bien d’autres.

 

Enfin, après la 59ème Biennale de Venise et Documenta fifteen, la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca accueille SAISON 6 - Volume 2, programme de résidences internationales destinées à de jeunes artistes diplômé-e-s du MO.CO. Esba - Ecole supérieure des beaux-arts de Montpellier. Six lauréats sont ainsi invités à développer leur travail pendant une année sur 3 temps de résidences, organisées à l’occasion de biennales et grandes expositions internationales. Les artistes lauréat.e.s sont Marie Boutevin, Paul Dubois, Alyss Fleury, Pierre Peres (K.BLUM), Clémentine Poirier (BOBBY BRIM) et Gaétan Vaguelsy qui participeront à plusieurs activités de la BIC et exposeront leur travail à la fin de leur séjour à Casablanca.

Organisée par Maroc Premium Fondation, la 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca est réalisée en partenariat et collaboration avec : IFITRY, Centre d’Art Contemporain Essaouira, BIC Project Space, FRAC Réunion, Institut français, Phileas – A fund for Contemporary Art, Liverpool John Moores University et The American Arts Center

 

Le deuxième temps de la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca se déroulera du 1er juin au 2 juillet 2023.

 

Pour plus d’information, contactez info@biennalecasablanca.ma.