Associate Curators
Selma NAGUIB
Selma Naguib web.jpg

Photo credit: Walid Bendraai

Selma Naguib is a cultural journalist, gallery owner and exhibition curator. She earned a Master's degree in Marketing from the Institut Supérieur de Commerce de Paris in 2010 and created the Moroccan cultural web magazine Kawn Culturein 2017.

 

In 2020, she co-founded Art First Galerie, an online and traveling art gallery promoting the young Moroccan contemporary scene. As an art consultant, she assists collectors in building collections dedicated to emerging Moroccan artists.

 

In 2021, she collaborated to the organisation of the exhibition Breaking the Mould: New Signatures from DRC, curated by Christine Eyene at 198 Contemporary Arts and Learning, London.

 

Her latest projects include Il était une fois le Cinéma à Casablanca (Once upon a time Cinema in Casablanca), a group exhibition of young talents who participated in a photographic workshop at Centre Culturel Les Etoiles de Sidi Moumen, organised by Art First Galerie at Espace NKOA, Casablanca (2021).

 

Since September 2021, she has participated in the mentoring program of the art magazine Contemporary And.

 

With an interest in performing arts, Selma Naguib is a theatre actress. She also moderates conferences dedicated to culture as well as book signings by Moroccan authors. In 2019, she performed a theatrical reading of the book Rue du Pardon by Mahi Binebine at H2 61.26 (Casablanca).

Patrick NZAZI KIAMA
Patrick Nzazi Kiama.jpg

Courtesy Patrick Nzazi Kiama

Patrick Nzazi Kiama is a cultural journalist and art critic based between Kinshasa and Paris. In 2008, he obtained a Degree in Information and Communication Sciences from the Bel Campus Technological University, Kinshasa. In 2012, he benefited from a residency on art criticism within the framework of the Rencontres internationales des arts contemporains (RIAC) organised by Ateliers SAHM created by the artist Bill Kouélany in Brazzaville. In 2017, he attended the Training Program for Cultural Journalists of Francophone Africa on Art Criticism at the Academy of Sciences, Arts, Cultures of Africa and African Diasporas (ASCAD) in Abidjan. In 2019, he also participated in the Critical Writing Workshop organised by Contemporary And with Waza art centre in Lubumbashi.

 

From 2013 to 2019, Nzazi Kiama worked with Kin ArtStudio, a contemporary art centre created by artist Vitshois Mwilambwe Bondo. He coordinated the artists residency programme and exhibitions and supervised workshops. He collaborated on the exhibition Young Congo (2017), under the direction of Mwilambwe Bondo, which subsequently gave birth to Congo Biennale.

 

The author of articles published in exhibition catalogues, newspapers and magazines, Nzazi Kiama was part of Dak'Art Actu’s editorial team during the 11th DAK'ART - Biennale of Contemporary African Art (2014). In 2020, he took part in a panel discussion at the 5th AKAA Art & Design Fair, that focused on the Congolese art scene, a theme on which he is currently preparing a publication.

Juste Constant ONANA AMOUGUI
JCAO web.jpg

Courtesy Juste Constant Onana Amougui

Juste Constant Onana Amougui is an art historian and curator based in Yaounde. He is currently preparing a doctorate on digital arts in Cameroon from the late 20th to early 21st century at the University of Yaounde I under the supervision of Christophe Mbida Mindzie and Paul-Henri Souvenir Assako Assako. A university assistant in art history, he is also in charge of artistic and cultural events at the Free Academy of Fine Arts (LABA) in Douala.

His last exhibition, Prospective, was organised in October 2021 as part of the 60th anniversary of the Goethe-Institut Yaounde. The exhibition featured about twenty renowned Cameroonian artists including Salifou Lindou, Joël Mpah Dooh, Jean David Nkot, Boris Nzebo, Barthélemy Toguo and Hervé Youmbi. His previous projects and collaborations include: From Inside to Outside and Mise en Forme, LABA, Douala (June and July 2021); Contemporary Heritage and Collective Identity 2021, as part of the 2021 Young Talents Competition organised by Doual'art at LABA (April 2021).

He collaborates with filmmaker Jean-Pierre Bekolo in his cultural space Quartier Mozart in Yaounde and has produced the exhibitions Dynamique Lyrique (March 2021), Points Réels (October 2020) and Nation Introspection (August 2020).

Commissaires Associé.e.s
Selma NAGUIB
Selma Naguib web.jpg

Crédit photo : Walid Bendraa

Selma Naguib est journaliste culturelle, galeriste et commissaire d’expositions. Diplômée d’un Master en Marketing de l’Institut Supérieur de Commerce de Paris en 2010, elle crée le web magazine culturel marocain Kawn Culture en 2017. En 2020, elle co-fonde Art First Galerie, galerie d’art en ligne et itinérante promouvant la jeune scène contemporaine marocaine. Consultante en art, elle assiste des collectionneurs à la constitution de collections dédiées aux artistes marocains émergents.

 

En 2021, elle collabore à l’organisation de l’exposition Breaking the Mould : New Signatures from DRC commissariée par Christine Eyene à 198 Contemporary Arts and Learning, Londres.

 

Ses derniers projets incluent Il était une fois le Cinéma à Casablanca, exposition collective de jeunes talents ayant participé à un atelier photographique au Centre Culturel Les Etoiles de Sidi Moumen, organisée par Art First Galerie à l’Espace NKOA, Casablanca (2021).

 

Depuis septembre 2021, elle participe au programme de mentoring du magazine d’art Contemporary And.

 

Ouverte sur les arts vivants, Selma Naguib est aussi comédienne de théâtre. Elle modère également des conférences dédiées à la culture ainsi que des signatures de livres d’auteurs marocains et a effectué, en 2019, une lecture théâtrale du livre Rue du Pardon de Mahi Binebine au H2 61.26 (Casablanca).

Patrick NZAZI KIAMA
Patrick Nzazi Kiama.jpg

Courtoisie Patrick Nzazi Kiama

Patrick Nzazi Kiama est journaliste culturel et critique d’art basé entre Kinshasa et Paris. Il obtient, en 2008, un Diplôme en Sciences de l’Information et de la Communication de l’Université Technologique Bel Campus, Kinshasa. En 2012, il bénéficie d’une résidence sur la critique d’art dans le cadre des Rencontres internationales des arts contemporains (RIAC) organisées par les Ateliers SAHM créés par l’artiste Bill Kouélany à Brazzaville. En 2017, il assiste au programme de Formation des Journalistes Culturels d’Afrique Francophone sur la Critique d’Art de l’Académie des Sciences, des Arts, des Cultures d’Afrique et des Diasporas Africaines (ASCAD) à Abidjan. Il participe aussi à l’Atelier d’Écriture Critique organisé par Contemporary And avec le Centre d’art Waza à Lubumbashi en 2019.

 

De 2013 à 2019, il travaille avec Kin ArtStudio, centre d’art contemporain créé par l’artiste Vitshois Mwilambwe Bondo. Il y coordonne le programme de résidences d’artistes, l’organisation des expositions-restitutions et la supervision d’ateliers. Il collabore notamment à l’exposition Young Congo (2017), sous la direction de Mwilambwe Bondo, qui a par la suite a donné naissance à Congo Biennale. 

 

Auteur d’articles publiés dans des catalogues d’expositions, journaux et magazines, Nzazi Kiama a notamment fait partie de l’équipe du magazine Dak’Art Actu lors de la 11ème Biennale d’art africain contemporain, DAK’ART 2014. Il fut un des intervenants des tables rondes organisées lors de la cinquième édition de AKAA Art & Design Fair (2020), autour de la scène artistique congolaise, thème sur lequel il prépare actuellement une publication.  

Juste Constant ONANA AMOUGUI
JCAO web.jpg

Courtoisie Juste Constant Onana Amougui

Juste Constant Onana Amougui est historien de l’art et commissaire d’exposition basé à Yaoundé. Il prépare actuellement un doctorat sur "Les arts numériques au Cameroun de la fin du 20e siècle aux premières décennies du XXIe siècle" à l’Université de Yaoundé I sous la direction de Christophe Mbida Mindzie et Paul-Henri Souvenir Assako Assako.

 

Assistant universitaire en histoire de l’art, il est aussi Chargé des événements artistiques et culturels à la Libre Académie des Beaux-Arts (LABA) de Douala.

Sa dernière exposition, Prospective, fut organisée en octobre 2021 dans le cadre du soixantenaire du Goethe-Institut Yaoundé. Y figurait une vingtaine d’artistes camerounais de renom dont Salifou Lindou, Joël Mpah Dooh, Jean David Nkot, Boris Nzebo, Barthélemy Toguo et Hervé Youmbi. Ses projets et collaborations précédents incluent : From Inside to Outside et Mise en Forme, LABA, Douala (juin et juillet 2021) ; Patrimoine Contemporain et Identité Collective, dans le cadre du Concours Jeunes Espoirs 2021 organisé par Doual’art à la LABA (avril 2021).

Il collabore avec le cinéaste Jean-Pierre Bekolo au sein de son espace culturel Quartier Mozart à Yaoundé et y a réalisé les expositions Dynamique Lyrique (mars 2021), Points Réels (octobre 2020) et Nation Introspection (août 2020).