May 19

International Biennale of Casablanca announces new dates
Bic new team members.png

Left to right, top to bottom : Selma Naguib (photo : Walid Bendraa), Patrick Nzazi Kiama, Juste Constant Onana Amougui and Jacques-Antoine Gannat.

After an interruption caused by the global pandemic, the International Biennale of Casablanca is pleased to announce the gradual resumption of its curatorial programme. The fifth edition remains under the artistic direction of Christine Eyene, assisted by Selma Naguib (Morocco), Patrick Nzazi Kiama (Democratic Republic of Congo / France) and Juste Constant Onana Amougui (Cameroon).

Also joining the organising team is Jacques-Antoine Gannat (Morocco) who will develop the biennale’s new international partnerships.

 

The biennale’s activities resumed end of March with a research trip by Austrian artist Oliver Ressler who is creating a new film commissioned in collaboration with Phileas – A Fund for Contemporary Art. Current preparations for the new incubation programme starting in July include a participatory research workshop as part of artist Ali El Darsa’s new commission, an art community meeting in Casablanca, and residencies at IFITRY in the Essaouira region. 

 

Entitled The Words Create Images, the 5th International Biennale of Casablanca will now take place in two stages, with exhibitions and events from 17 November to 17 December 2022 and from 9 February to 11 March 2023. The artists participating in the different strands of the biennale will be announced in the coming weeks.

19 mai

La Biennale Internationale de Casablanca annonce ses nouvelles dates
Bic new team members.png

De gauche à droite en partant du haut : Selma Naguib (photo : Walid Bendraa), Patrick Nzazi Kiama, Juste Constant Onana Amougui et Jacques-Antoine Gannat.

Après une interruption causée par la pandémie, la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca est heureuse d’annoncer la reprise progressive de son programme curatorial. La cinquième édition demeure sous la direction artistique de l’historienne de l’art et curatrice Christine Eyene, assistée de Selma Naguib (Maroc), Patrick Nzazi Kiama (République Démocratique du Congo / France) et Juste Constant Onana Amougui (Cameroun). 

Se joint à l’équipe organisatrice Jacques-Antoine Gannat (Maroc) qui développera les nouveaux partenariats internationaux de la biennale.

 

Les activités de la biennale ont repris fin mars avec un voyage de recherche de l'artiste autrichien Oliver Ressler qui réalise un nouveau film commandé en collaboration avec Phileas – A Fund for Contemporary Art. Les préparatifs du nouveau programme d'incubation débutant en juillet comprennent un atelier de recherche dans le cadre de la nouvelle œuvre de l'artiste Ali El Darsa, un temps de rencontre avec la communauté artistique de Casablanca, et des résidences à l'IFITRY dans la région d'Essaouira.

 

Intitulée Les Mots Créent des Images, la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca se déroulera à présent en deux temps, avec un programme d’expositions et événements du 17 novembre au 17 Décembre 2022 et du 9 février au 11 mars 2023. Les artistes participant aux différents volets de la biennale seront annoncé.e.s dans les prochaines semaines.