15 Nov

Workshop 
Language of Change

لغة التغيير 

Amira Hanafi.jpg

Amira Hanafi, A Dictionary of the Revolution, 2014 - ongoing. Multimedia. Courtesy the Artist.

This two-day workshop proposes to engage with Amira Hanafi’s project A Dictionary of the Revolution, presented at the International Biennale of Casablanca, and to develop a new vocabulary to describe change.

 

Day 1. Friday 18 November, 2 - 4 pm

 

Participants will have a look at Hanafi’s artwork on display and have a discussion about it: both the process of making, and the language that it contains. Then they will play a game to start thinking about the vocabulary we use to describe change: big and small, fast and gradual. This will lead into the final part of the day, which will be spent generating a vocabulary for the change we'd like to see in the world. The vocabulary will be everyday, grassroots, repossessed, and/or invented. 

 

Day 2. Saturday 19 November, 1 - 3 pm 

 

The participants will work on giving meaning to our terms. This will be done in part by playing a game in which the participants become or embody the word and are interviewed by other participants. They will use an online co-writing tool to produce a written glossary. A specific version developed by Hanafi for the Biennale will live online beyond the workshop. 

 

A sharing moment about this experience will take place on Sunday 20 Nov at 5pm at The American Arts Center.

 

This workshop is free and open to all.

Registration at info@biennalecasablanca.ma 

Venue: 

The American Arts Center

2 Khalil Matrane (ex Balzac)

Casablanca

15 Nov

Atelier
Langage du Changement
لغة التغيير 
Amira Hanafi.jpg

Amira Hanafi, A Dictionary of the Revolution, 2014 - ongoing. Multimedia. Courtoisie de l’artiste.

Cet atelier de deux jours propose d'aborder le projet A Dictionary of the Revolution d'Amira Hanafi, présenté à la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca, et de développer un nouveau vocabulaire pour décrire le changement.

 

Jour 1. Vendredi 18 novembre, 14h - 16h

 

Les participant.e.s exploreront l’œuvre d'Hanafi et en discuteront à la fois le processus de création et le langage qu'elle contient. Ensuite, ils/elles joueront à un jeu pour commencer à réfléchir au vocabulaire que nous utilisons pour décrire le changement : grand et petit, rapide et graduel. Cela mènera à la dernière partie de la journée, qui sera consacrée à la génération d'un vocabulaire des changements que nous aimerions voir dans le monde. Le vocabulaire sera quotidien, populaire, réapproprié et/ou inventé.

 

Jour 2. Samedi 19 novembre, 13h - 15h

 

Les participant.e.s réfléchiront au sens des termes créés. Cela se fera, en partie, en jouant à un jeu dans lequel les ils/elles deviennent ou incarnent la parole et sont interviewé.e.s par d'autres participant.e.s. Ils/elles utiliseront un outil de co-écriture en ligne pour produire un glossaire écrit. Une version spécifique développée par Hanafi pour la Biennale vivra en ligne au-delà de l'atelier.

 

Un moment de partage autour de cette expérience aura lieu dimanche 20 novembre à 17h à l'American Arts Center.

 

Cet atelier est gratuit et ouvert à tous et toutes.

Inscription à info@biennalecasablanca.ma

Lieu:

The American Arts Center

2 Khalil Matrane (ex Balzac)

Casablanca