1/4

Yoriyas, The Last Mercedes, (2014 - ), photography series. Courtesy the Artist.

Yassine Alaoui Ismaili (Yoriyas)

Yassine Alaoui Ismaili (Yoriyas)

Born 1984 in Casablanca (Morocco), lives and works in Casablanca

 

Yoriyas is a photographer and performer artist. He started playing chess at five years old, leading him to fall in love with mathematics. By the age of 16, the influence of Hip Hop culture paved a new path in his life, he became a breakdancer. In 2013, while traveling the world as a competing professional dancer, a serious knee injury halted his dance career. This sparked a new artistic transformation: street photography as a means of expression.

His work is often an intuition-based observation of urban/public space and a documentation of daily life and change in Morocco. His images have been published in numerous established newspapers and magazines such as The New York Times, The Guardian, and National Geographic. His recent exhibitions include "Afrika Im Blick der Fotografen", Weltkulturerbe Völklinger Hütte Museum, Völklingen, 2020 ; "Casablanca Not the Movie", La Fabrique Pola, Bordeaux, 2019 ; "Loading … Casa", De Markten, Brussels, 2018. In 2020, he curated "Sourtna", the inaugural exhibition of Morocco’s first National Photography Museum.

 

Yoriyas has received several international awards, including Les Amis de l’Institut du Monde Arabe - Prize for Young Contemporary Arab Creation 2019 and the 7th Contemporary African Photography Prize 2018.

 

For the 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca, Yoriyas will present a new mixed media piece developed from his photography project The Last Mercedes. This series narrates the journey of the German-manufactured Mercedes 240s imported to Morocco and used as big taxis – the shared urban vehicles called ‘grand taxi’ in French. Yoriyas captures the integration of these taxis in the Moroccan culture, and the companionship developed between the drivers, passengers and vehicles. 

https://yoriyas.com

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

1/4

Yoriyas, The Last Mercedes, (2014 - ), série photographique. Courtoisie de l'Artiste

Yassine Alaoui Ismaili (Yoriyas)

Yassine Alaoui Ismaili (Yoriyas)

Né en 1984 à Casablanca (Maroc), vit et travaille à Casablanca

 

Yoriyas est photographe et performeur. Il commence à jouer aux échecs à cinq ans, ce qui l'amène très vite à tomber amoureux des mathématiques. À l'âge de 16 ans, l'influence de la culture Hip Hop lui ouvre une nouvelle voie, il devient breakdancer. En 2013, alors qu'il parcourt le monde en tant que danseur professionnel, une grave blessure au genou interrompt sa carrière. Suite à cela, il adopte un tout nouveau mode d'expression : la photographie de rue.

Le travail de Yoriyas est une observation intuitive de l'espace urbain/public et une documentation des changements au sein de la vie quotidienne au Maroc. Ses images ont été publiées dans de nombreux journaux et magazines dont The New York Times, The Guardian et National Geographic. Ses expositions récentes incluent « Afrika Im Blick der Fotografen », Musée Weltkulturerbe Völklinger Hütte, Völklingen, 2020 ; « Casablanca Not the Movie », La Fabrique Pola, Bordeaux, 2019 ; « Loading … Casa », De Markten, Bruxelles, 2018. En 2020, il a commissarié « Sourtna », l'exposition inaugurale du premier Musée national de la photographie du Maroc.

Yoriyas a reçu de nombreux prix internationaux, dont le Prix des Amis de l'Institut du Monde Arabe pour la jeune création contemporaine arabe 2019 et le 7ème Prix de la photographie contemporaine africaine 2018.

Pour la 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca, Yoriyas présentera une nouvelle œuvre réalisée à partir de son projet photographique The Last Mercedes. Cette série raconte le trajet des Mercedes 240 de fabrication allemande, importées au Maroc et utilisées comme « grand taxi » – véhicules de transport en commun. Yoriyas capture l'intégration de ces taxis dans la culture marocaine, et la camaraderie développée entre les conducteurs, les passagers et les véhicules. 


https://yoriyas.com

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.