1/3

Shiraz Bayjoo, Pran Kouraz, 2019. Single channel video, four sculptural costumes, four-panel fabric print, 150 x 300cm. Commissioned by Art Night and Institute of International Visual Arts. Courtesy the Artist.

SHIRAZ BAYJOO

Shiraz Bayjoo

Born in Port Saint-Louis (Mauritius), lives and works between London and Mauritius

 

Shiraz Bayjoo studied at the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff (1998-2001). He is a multidisciplinary artist working with video, painting, photography, installation and performance. His research-based practice investigates the legacy of European colonialism using personal and public archives. It also addresses cultural memory and postcolonial nationhood in a manner that challenges dominant cultural narratives.

 

Bayjoo was an artist in residence at Whitechapel Gallery in 2011, the Institute of International Visual Arts in 2015, he was also recipient of the Triangle Network fellowship in 2016. His participation in the 4th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (2018) was followed by a solo exhibition entitled ‘Searching for Libertalia’ at New Art Exchange, Nottingham (2019), curated by Cindy Sissokho. Recently, he also participated in Sharjah Biennale 14 (2019) and Dhaka Art Summit (2020).

 

For the 5th BIC, Shiraz Bayjoo will present a new installation following from Pran Kouraz (Take Courage) (2019), a collaborative mixed-media work co-commissioned by Art Night 2019 and the Institute of International Visual Arts. The installation explores notions of migration and displacement through a 13-minute 16mm film made with pupils from a London primary school. The work deals with young people’s rights whilst considering their own experiences and stories of courage and overcoming. Occupying a unique non-politicised position, the children are able to critique the myriad of experiences and treatment facing trans-migratory groups today, from their own experiences of isolation, loss and displacement.
Through readings of abolitionist poetry, and 17-century fiction on Empire and class, the students have voiced the importance of agency in the world they are to inherit. Bayjoo places this against his own image of flight and resistance from Mauritius, once known as the Maroon republic. The story of the Maroon becomes a wider metaphor for journeys of escape, overcoming and ultimately the transformation of self.

The new piece created by Bayjoo will embed itself within the Moroccan context and include a creative workshop involving participants from Casablanca.  

Shiraz Bayjoo is represented by Ed Cross Fine Art

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

1/3

Shiraz Bayjoo, Pran Kouraz, 2019. Vidéo à un écran, 4 constumes sculptés, 4 tissus imprimés, 150 x 300cm. Commandés par Art Night et Institute of International Visual Arts. Courtoisie de l'Artiste.

SHIRAZ BAYJOO

Shiraz Bayjoo
Né à Port Saint-Louis (Île Maurice), vit et travaille entre Londres et l’Île Maurice

Shiraz Bayjoo est diplômé de l'Institut de l'Université du Pays de Galles, Cardiff (1998-2001). C’est un artiste pluridisciplinaire utilisant la vidéo, la peinture, la photographie, l'installation et la performance. Sa pratique artistique, fondée sur la recherche, examine l'héritage du colonialisme européen en partant d’archives personnelles et publiques. Il aborde également la mémoire culturelle et la condition postcoloniale en remettant en question les récits culturels dominants.

Bayjoo a bénéficié d’une résidence d’artiste à la Whitechapel Gallery en 2011, à l'Institute of International Visual Arts (Iniva) en 2015, et d’une bourse Triangle Network en 2016. Sa participation à la 4ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca (2018) a été suivie d'une exposition individuelle intitulée « Searching for Libertalia », à New Art Exchange, Nottingham (2019), organisée par Cindy Sissokho. Il a également participé à la 14ème Biennale de Sharjah (2019) et au Dhaka Art Summit (2020).

Pour la 5 ème BIC, Shiraz Bayjoo présentera une nouvelle installation issue de Pran Kouraz (Prends Courage) (2019), une œuvre collaborative pluridisciplinaire commandée par Art Night 2019 et l'Iniva. L'installation explore la notion de migration et de déplacement à travers un film 16 mm de 13 minutes, réalisé avec des élèves d'une école primaire de Londres. L’œuvre traite des droits des jeunes tout en considérant leurs propres expériences et histoires de courage et d’épeuvres surmontées. Dans leur position unique non-politisée, ces enfants sont capables de critiquer la myriade d'expériences et de traitements auxquels sont confrontés les groupes issus des migrations d’aujourd'hui, à partir de leurs propres expériences d'isolement, de perte et de déplacement.
À travers des lectures de poésie abolitionniste et des fictions du XVIIe siècle sur l'Empire et la classe, les élèves ont exprimé l'importance du libre arbitre dans le monde qu’ils vont hériter. Bayjoo replace leur récit en écho de l’image de la fuite et des résistances connues à Maurice sous le nom de République marron. L'histoire du Marron devient la métaphore de voyages, d'évasion, de résilience et transformation de soi.


La nouvelle pièce créée par Bayjoo s'inscrira dans le contexte marocain et comprendra un atelier créatif avec des participants de Casablanca.

Shiraz Bayjoo est représenté par Ed Cross Fine Art

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.