Khadija Tnana

Born 1945, Tetouan, Morocco. Lives and works in Tetouan.

 

Khadija Tnana is an engaged artist, scholar and former local deputy in charge of culture at the city council of Fez, from 1983 to 1992. 



In 1993, she quit politics without giving up her social engagement, to focus on painting. Tnana's work deals with themes such as death, emigration and the Intifada. Her pictorial, figurative work questions the status of women and is particularly concerned with the body, dominated by the sexual and the erotic. It also looks at injustice, the tragic condition of women and political and social indifference.

 

Khadija Tnana's work has been the subject of several solo and group exhibitions in Morocco and internationally. It was presented at the 11th and 12th editions of Dak’Art - Biennale de l’Art Africain Contemporain in 2014 and 2016. She also recently took part in the first Rabat Biennale (2019).

She is currently president of the association Forum of Women's Creativity, and founding member of Ras el Hanout, a group of artists from both sides of the Mediterranean that promotes cultural exchanges.

 

For the 5th BIC, Khadija Tnana will develop a new collaborative piece around ‘Tata Mbarka’ (2005), a play authored by the artist that examines the mistreatment and exploitation of domestic workers, who are descendant of slaves, in the Moroccan social landscape.

KHADIJA TNANA

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

Khadija TNANA

Née en 1945 à Tétouan, Maroc. Vit et travaille à Tétouan.

 

Khadija Tnana est une artiste engagée, universitaire et ancienne élue locale — adjointe en charge de la culture auprès de la mairie de Fès, de 1983 à 1992.


En 1993, elle rompt avec la politique sans renoncer à son engagement pour se consacrer à la peinture. Tnana aborde des thématiques telles que la mort, l’émigration et l’Intifada. Son œuvre picturale, figurative, interroge le statut de la femme et s’intéresse tout particulièrement au corps, dominé par le sexuel et l’érotique. Elle porte un regard sur l’injustice, le tragique de la condition féminine et l’irresponsabilité politique et sociale.

Le travail de Khadija Tnana a fait l'objet de plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives au Maroc et à l’étranger. Il a été présenté aux 11ème et 12ème éditions de Dak’Art - Biennale de l’Art Africain Contemporain en 2014 et 2016. L’artiste a également participé à la première Biennale de Rabat (2019).


Tnana est actuellement présidente de l’association Forum de la créativité féminine et membre-fondatrice de Ras el Hanout, groupement d’artistes des deux rives de la Méditerranée qui prône les échanges culturels.

 

Pour la 5ème BIC, elle développera une nouvelle œuvre collaborative autour de « Tata Mbarka » (2005), pièce de théâtre écrite par l’artiste, qui se penche sur la maltraitance et l’exploitation des domestiques et servants, descendants d’esclaves, dans le paysage social marocain.

KHADIJA TNANA

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.