It is with great sadness that we learned of the loss of South African photographer George Hallett on July 1st. His death came just a few days after the closing date of his exhibition “George Hallett: sound . text . image ”at the BIC Project Space (Casablanca), presented online due to the pandemic.

Born in Cape Town in 1942, Hallett began his career in the 1960s as a self-taught street photographer. His early subjects included images of District Six, a mixed neighborhood in Cape Town, before its demolition the apartheid government. This series, inspired by his peers and friends Peter E. Clarke (1927-2014) (painter and writer) and James Matthews (poet, author, and publisher), has become part of South Africa's national heritage. Among his other photography topics, can be mentioned his documentation of the cultural life of Cape Town, including the jazz scene and literary world.

Hallett left South Africa in 1970 and settled in London. There, he worked as a freelance photographer for the Times Educational Supplement and designed a large part of the book covers of Heinemann's African Writers Series until 1982. He also created a large body of work on British society, as well as an extensive documentation of South African exile in England.
He moved to France in 1974, then to Amsterdam in 1984, while continuing to capture scenes of daily life, exile, and cultures of the African diasporas.

He began working again in South Africa in the early 1990s and, in 1994, documented Nelson Mandela's presidential campaign for the African National Congress. This series earned him a World Press Photo Award in the 'People in the News' category in 1995. He then settled permanently in Cape Town and endeavored to capture the new South Africa through works as varied as the new faces of the government reflecting South African's diversity, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, through to classical dance in the township of Gugulethu, and many other subjects.

His photography work in connection with African literature is one of the inspirations behind the theme of the 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca. The exhibition at the BIC Project Space, curated by artistic director Christine Eyene, was his last while he was still alive.

George Hallett (1942-2020) passed away in his sleep after a long illness. The Biennale Internationale de Casablanca sends his family and friends our most sincere condolences.

george hallett passed away at the age of 77

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

C’est avec grande tristesse que nous avons appris la perte du photographe sud-africain George Hallett le 1er juillet. Son décès est parvenu quelques jours après la date de clôture de son exposition “ George Hallett : son . texte . image ” au BIC Project Space (Casablanca), présentée en ligne du fait de la pandémie.

 

Né au Cap en 1942, Hallett a débuté sa carrière dans les années 60 comme photographe de rue autodidacte. Ses premiers sujets comprennent notamment des image de District Six, quartier mixte du Cap, avant sa destruction par le gouvernement d’apartheid. Cette série, née de l’encouragement de ses pairs et amis Peter E. Clarke (1927-2014) (peintre et écrivain) et James Matthews (poète, auteur et éditeur), est entrée dans le patrimoine historique de l’Afrique du Sud. Parmi ses autres sujets de prédilection, peut notamment être citée sa documentation de la vie culturelle du Cap, dont la scène jazz et le milieu littéraire.

 

Hallett quitte l’Afrique du sud en 1970 pour s’installer à Londres. Il travaille alors en tant que photographe indépendant pour le Times Educational Supplément et conçoit une grande partie des couvertures des livres de la collection African Writers Series de l’éditeur Heinemann jusqu’en 1982. Il a aussi créé une vaste corps de travail sur la société anglaise, ainsi qu’une importante documentation de l’exil sud-africain en Angleterre.

Il s’installe en France en 1974 puis à Amsterdam en 1984 tout en continuant à saisir scènes de vie, exil, et les cultures des diasporas africaines.

 

Il commence à retravailler en Afrique du Sud au début des années 90 et, en 1994, documente la campagne présidentielle de Nelson Mandela pour l’African National Congress. Cette série lui vaudra un World Press Photo Award dans la catégorie People in the News en 1995. Il s’installe définitivement au Cap et s’attache à saisir la nouvelle Afrique du Sud à travers des travaux de genres aussi variés que les nouveaux visages d’un gouvernement reflétant la diversité sud-africaine, la Commission de Vérité et Réconciliation, mais aussi la danse classique dans le bidonville de Gugulethu et bien d’autres sujets encore.

 

Son travail photographique, en lien avec la littérature africaine, est une des inspirations du thème de la 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca. L’exposition au BIC Project Space, commissariée par la directrice artistique Christine Eyene, est la dernière de son vivant.  

 

George Hallett (1942-2020) s’est éteint, dans son sommeil suite à une longue maladie. La Biennale Internationale présente ses sincères condoléences à sa famille et ses amis. 

 

Le photographe george hallett s'est éteint

à 77 ans

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.