BIC announces dates of its 2020 edition

The 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca take place from 24 September to 1st November 2020.


The biennale is continuing its restructuring phase under the artistic direction of art historian and curator Christine Eyene. A Research Fellow in Contemporary Art at the University of Central Lancashire (UK), Eyene recently curated the 2018 edition of the Casablanca biennale and the exhibition RESIST! The 1960s Protests, Photography and Visual Legacy as part of the Summer of Photography 2018 at Bozar, Brussels.

In Casablanca, Eyene will initiate the creation of a new team, and the development of local and international collaborations and partnerships.


In spring 2019, the biennale will launch a new incubation program by opening its workspaces to accommodate experimental projects. The main objective will be to interact with the local and Moroccan art scene through a variety of practices ranging from visual and sound arts, to text, performance and video projections. The spaces will also allow the possibility of workshops for artists, young art professionals and art critics. The program will progressively include international artists and contribute to the development of the exhibitions of the 2020 edition.

During its preparation, the biennale will also offer residencies at Ifitry in the region of Essaouira. These residencies will facilitate the creation of new works, with the possibility of experimenting with display formats at the Centre for Contemporary Art linked to the residency.

 

The artists selected from our open call will announced between Spring and September 2019.

For more information, please contact the biennial at info@biennalecasablanca.ma.

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

La BIC annonce les dates de son édition 2020

La 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca se déroulera du 24 septembre au 1er novembre 2020.

 

La biennale poursuit sa phase de restructuration sous la direction artistique de l'historienne de l'art et commissaire Christine Eyene. Chercheuse en art contemporain à l'Université de Central Lancashire (Royaume-Uni), Eyene a tout récemment commissarié l'édition 2018 de la Biennale Internationale de Casablanca et l’exposition RESIST! The 1960s Protests, Photography and Visual Lagacy dans le cadre du Summer of Photography 2018 à Bozar, Bruxelles.

À Casablanca, Eyene va initier la mise en place d’une nouvelle équipe et le développement de collaborations et de partenariats locaux et internationaux.

 

Au printemps 2019, la biennale lancera un nouveau programme d'incubation en ouvrant ses espaces de travail pour accueillir des projets expérimentaux. L'objectif principal sera d'interagir avec la scène artistique locale et marocaine à travers une variété de medium allant des arts visuels et sonores, au texte, à la performance et séances de projections vidéo. Les espaces permettront également d'organiser des ateliers pour les artistes, les jeunes professionnels de l'art et les critiques d'art. Le programme intégrera progressivement des artistes internationaux et contribuera au développement des expositions de l'édition 2020.

 

Pendant sa préparation, la biennale proposera également des résidences à Ifitry dans la région d’Essaouira. Celles-ci faciliteront la création de nouvelles œuvres, avec la possibilité d’expérimenter different formats de présentation au Centre d’Art Aontemporain lié à la résidence.

 

L'annonce des artistes sélectionnés suite à l'appel à candidatures aura lieu entre le printemps et la rentrée 2019.

 

Pour plus d'information, contacter la biennale à info@biennalecasablanca.ma.

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.