Cindy SISSOKHO

 

 

Cindy Sissokho lives and works in Nottingham, UK. She is a cultural producer, curator and young writer with a specific interest in intellectual, political and artistic aspects of decoloniality within the arts and feminist movements and writings. She is also part of the Nottingham-based collective SHEAfriq, a group of creative Black women that programme a diverse range of events in and out of institutions to reclaim their space and visibility within the city. She is passionate about the dissemination of epistemologies and new cultural productions from the ‘Global South’ as a political space.

 

Sissokho studied Communication, Media & Cultural Mediation at University Paris 8, France (2014), including a fully-funded Erasmus year to study at Panteion University in Athens, Greece. She also earned a Master’s in Cultural Events Management (2015) at De Montfort University, Leicester, UK.

After working at Nottingham Contemporary in the Exhibitions and Public Programmes departments (2017-2018) she joined New Art Exchange (NAE) – the largest gallery in the UK dedicated to culturally diverse contemporary visual arts – as Curator and Special Projects Producer. She partly manages the national and international touring of NAE’s exhibitions and coordinates ExperiMentor – NAE’s artist development and mentoring scheme for local emerging artists.

 

Cindy Sissokho, who leads on the African iteration of NAE’s programme Here, There & Everywhere - Africa / UK: Transforming Art Ecologies, will play an active role in a major collaboration between NAE and the International Biennale of Casablanca. The partnership comprises the creation of professional development opportunities including Sissokho’s curatorial position and two internships within the biennale’s curatorial team; the commission of new works; and a symposium gathering important figures from the African curatorial scene.

Photo Richard Chung

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

Cindy SISSOKHO

 

Cindy Sissokho vit et travaille à Nottingham, en Angleterre. Elle est productrice culturelle, commissaire d’exposition et jeune écrivaine avec un intérêt particulier pour les aspects intellectuels, politiques et artistiques de la decolonialité dans l'art, et les mouvements et écrits féministes. Elle fait aussi partie du collectif SHEAfriq, un groupe de femmes créatives noires qui programment des événements variés, en partenariat avec des institutions, ou indépendamment, afin de négocier leur espace et leur visibilité dans la ville de Nottingham. Elle est passionnée par la diffusion des connaissances et des nouvelles productions culturelles provenant des « Pays du Sud » en tant qu’espace de pensée politique.

 

Sissokho a étudié la Communication, les Médias & la Médiation Culturelle à l’Université Paris 8, France (2014); licence pendant laquelle elle a reçu une bourse pour effectuer une année d’études Erasmus à l’Université Panteion d’Athènes en Grèce. Elle a aussi obtenu un Master en Management d’Événements Culturels de l’Université De Montfort, à Leicester en Angleterre (2015).

Après avoir travaillé à Nottingham Contemporary aux services expositions et programmes publics (2017-2018), elle rejoint, comme commissaire d’exposition et productrice de projets spéciaux, New Art Exchange (NAE) – le plus grand centre d’art contemporain du Royaume-Uni consacré aux arts visuels contemporains issus de la diversité culturelle. Elle y gère en partie les tournées nationales et internationales des expositions itinérantes et coordonne ExperiMentor, le programme de développement et de mentorat d’artistes de NAE pour les artistes émergents locaux.

 

Cindy Sissokho, qui est en charge de l'itération africaine du programme de NAE : Here, There & Everywhere - Africa / UK: Transforming Art Ecologies, jouera un rôle actif dans un partenariat majeur entre NAE et la Biennale internationale de Casablanca. Celui-ci comprend la création d’opportunités de développement professionnel, notamment le poste de commissaire de Sissokho et deux stages au sein de l’équipe curatoriale de la biennale; la commande de nouvelles œuvres; et un symposium réunissant des personnalités importantes de la scène curatoriale africaine.

Photo Richard Chung

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.