The words create images

Gonzalo Reyes Araos, Mother PGN de la série Family PGN, 2019 - en cours. Technique mixte. Courtoisie de l'artiste

Discussing his passion for literature, during an interview with American scholar John Edwin Mason, Associate Professor in African history and the history of photography at the University of Virginia, South African photographer George Hallett commented that “the word creates an image in your mind”. Trivial as it may seem at first, this remark translates the process whereby Hallett visualised the stories in the manuscripts to which he had access in the 1970s and 1980s, in order to create the images encapsulating their essence. These visual compositions were to become the book covers of publisher Heinemann’s African Writers Series, one of the most influential literary collections in post-Independence Africa. They also speak to the cross-medium spaces opened up by the written word.

 

The link between African literatures and creative processes will unfold in Casablanca and make way for the imaginary and narratives that nourish contemporary artistic creation. The biennale will open onto the fields of text, word, sign and languages, both vernacular and through their relationship with the colonial linguistic legacy in Africa and beyond. It will also involve questioning the ways in which language influences thought systems and, by extension, the discourses and interpretations of a work of art, both in its matter and metaphorical sense.

   
A reflection on translation and the untranslatable will also be developed. In this respect, the curatorial concept also takes its cue from an observation by Jacques Derrida in his seminar Trace and archive, image and art (2002), on the idea of ​​words acting as images beyond their discursive properties. While addressing the question of translation, on the occasion of the presentation of D’ailleurs Derrida (1999) by Egyptian filmmaker Safaa Fathy, the Algerian-born French philosopher argued the following: “… when one does not understand everything in a language, which happens all the time, even when one is very intelligent and very cultured, one can never understand everything, it means that the word functions as an image. It might retain its discursive reserve, its thinking reserve, its theoretical or philosophical reserve, whatever you want, but it is first and foremost here as an image, and that is what makes the work.” (p. 40).    

 

The notion of communication will also be approached through its means, methods, and media, whether oral, written or coded; through the transmission of customary, historical or contemporary stories; and through dialogue, with consideration for the diversity of discursive spaces, and how location informs, expands, or limits the room for expression. In this respect, the adoption of the term كلمة (kalima or word in Arabic), purposely calls to mind the eponymous Moroccan feminist journal from the late 1980s that symbolised reclaimed voices and, ultimately, silencing.    

 

Responding to these orientations, the 5th Biennale Internationale de Casablanca will consist of existing and newly commissioned works by established and emerging international artists, selected from both the biennale’s open call and resulting from curatorial research. The biennale’s 2019-2020 incubation programme will allow for a series of artistic interventions, workshops, residencies and presentations to take place both at Ifitry residency and its Centre for Contemporary Art (in the region of Essaouira), and at the BIC Project Space (Casablanca). This, in view of enabling artists to explore the theme and experiment with diverse creative processes ahead of the launch, end of September 2020.   

 

 

Christine Eyene

Artistic Director

Biennale Internationale de Casablanca

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.

Les mots créent des images

Gonzalo Reyes Araos, Mother PGN de la série Family PGN, 2019 - en cours. Technique mixte. Courtoisie de l'artiste

Discutant de sa passion pour la littérature lors d'un entretien avec John Edwin Mason, Professeur Agrégé d'Histoire de l’Afrique et Histoire de la Photographie à l'Université de Virginie, le photographe sud-africain George Hallett déclarait que « le mot crée une image dans l’esprit ». Cette remarque, aussi anodine puisse-t-elle paraître de prime abord, traduit le processus par lequel Hallett visualisait le récit des manuscrits auxquels il a eu accès dans les années 1970-1980, afin de créer des images captivant leur essence. Ces compositions visuelles allaient devenir les couvertures de l’African Writers Series des éditions Heinemann, l'une des collections littéraires les plus importantes d’Afrique au lendemain des Indépendances. Ces images ouvrent sur le champ transdisciplinaire auquel nous convie le mot écrit.

Le lien entre littératures africaines et processus créatifs se déploiera à Casablanca et laissera place à l’imaginaire et aux récits nourrissant la création artistique contemporaine. La biennale s’intéressera au texte, mot, signe et aux langues, à la fois vernaculaires et à travers leurs relations avec l’héritage linguistique colonial en Afrique et au-delà. Il s’agira aussi d’interroger les modalités par lesquelles la langue influe sur les systèmes de pensée et, par extension, sur les discours et interprétations d’une œuvre d’art, tant dans sa matière qu’en son sens imagé.

  

Une réflexion autour de la traduction et de l’intraduisible sera aussi développée. À cet égard, le concept curatorial s'inspire également d'une observation de Jacques Derrida dans son séminaire Trace et archive, image et art (2002), sur l'idée du mot agissant comme image au-delà de ses propriétés discursives. Abordant la question de la traduction, à l'occasion de la présentation de D'ailleurs Derrida (1999) de la cinéaste égyptienne Safaa Fathy, le philosophe français d’origine algérienne affirmait ce qui suit : « Et quand on ne comprend pas tout d’un langage, ce qui arrive tout le temps, même quand on est très intelligent et très cultivé, on ne comprend jamais tout, ça veut dire que le mot fonctionne comme une image. Il garde sa réserve discursive, sa réserve de pensée, sa réserve théorique, philosophique, tout ce que vous voudrez, mais il est d’abord là comme une image et c’est ça qui fait œuvre. » (p. 40).

 

La notion de communication sera aussi abordée à travers ses moyens, méthodes, et supports : qu’il s’agisse d’oralité, d'écriture ou de code ; de transmission de récits coutumiers, historiques ou contemporains ; ou de dialogue, tout en considérant la diversité des espaces discursifs, et la manière dont l’endroit où l’on se trouve informe, étend, ou limite les marges d’expression.


En réponse à ces orientations, la 5ème Biennale Internationale de Casablanca comprendra des œuvres existantes et nouvellement créées, par des artistes internationaux établis et émergents, sélectionnées à la fois sur l'appel à candidatures qu’à l’issue de recherches curatoriales. Le programme d'incubation 2019-2020 de la biennale permettra l'organisation d'une série d'interventions artistiques, d'ateliers, de résidences et de présentations dans la résidence Ifitry et son Centre d'art contemporain (dans la région d'Essaouira), ainsi que dans le nouveau lieu de la biennale à Casablanca, le BIC Project Space. Ceci, afin de permettre aux artistes d’explorer cette thématique et d’expérimenter divers processus et formats avant le lancement de la biennale fin septembre 2020.

 


Christine Eyene

Directrice artistique

Biennale Internationale de Casablanca

© 2020 Biennale Internationale de Casablanca | Tous droits réservés.